Boston Book Company: Staff

Charles Vilnis

Principal

Charles graduated with a BA from Yale in Japanese Studies in 1973 and has been in the rare book business since 1977 and a member of the International league of Antiquarian Booksellers since 1980. He spent years in the PhD program at Harvard in the Department of East Asian Languages and Literatures, working closely with Professors Howard Hibbett and John Rosenfield. 

He is an enthusiastic bookseller who has seen and touched for decades most of that which needs to be seen and touched in order to understand Japanese art as expressed in books. Charles spends about half his time in Japan and otherwise on the road, with a base in Kyoto. He invites those with an interest to come and have fun with the wonderful books and albums that he loves. 

Charles Vilnis

cpvilnis@rarebook.com
linkedin.com/in/charles-vilnis-848681191

 

charles@rarebook.com

Helen Kelly

Principal

Helen Kelly, a graduate of the University of Massachusetts, is a former Governor and current member of the Antiquarian Bookseller's Association of America, and a member of the International League of Antiquarian Booksellers and the Massachusetts and Rhode Island Antiquarian Booksellers.

helen@rarebook.com

Elizabeth Fragala

Elizabeth is the assistant to Charles in the Japanese Dept. She has an MA from Sophia University in Tokyo in Japanese literature and a BA from Seton Hall University in Asian Studies. This background as well as her fashion studies in London, work in the field of fashion in London and Boston and time as a curatorial associate for the American Textile History Museum, helped prepare her for the research and cataloging of Japanese illustrated books.

elizabeth@rarebook.com
linkedin.com/in/elizabeth-fragala-0161291

  

 

elizabeth@rarebook.com

James Desrosiers

Book Staff

james@rarebook.com

David Fredette

Book Staff

david@rarebook.com